Review: I Dared the Duke

I Dared the Duke
I Dared the Duke by Anna Bennett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In the second book to The Wayward Wallflowers series I fell into deep admiration with Beth’s character. I am not sure this statement is grammatically correct but it is what I mean. Beth needs to be needed, as do most people though they are unaware of this need. The fact that she is conscious of this and finds ways to satisfy this part of herself is spread throughout this book in an appealing manner. I like that the author does give her a backbone to not be walked on and to be able to think of her best interests. It is refreshing to read a female lead character that thinks of others wellbeing. 

Alex’s hidden secrets are surprising and painful. It is clear throughout the book that he didn’t understand how one moment in time could affect others for the rest of their lives and possibly ruin his future. In his character one sees how one’s thoughts create a life that is not satisfying and can in fact be very destructive. 

Secondary characters in his grandmother and his close friend Darby the Marquess of Daberville add very interesting scenes to this romantic amusing and fun read. I really enjoyed this read and love how it addressed bullying in a discrete manner.

I look forward to the next book in this series and give this book 4 STARS for addressing how destructive words can be to one’s future.

Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.

Visit my blog for more reviews: Sportochick’s Musings

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

