Review: The Lady and the Highlander

The Lady and the Highlander
The Lady and the Highlander by Lecia Cornwall
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow a great fairy tale romance that is a little on the dark side with lots of love and light shining through. Author Lecia Cornwall puts together a brilliantly written plot in this book that was so involved and detailed that I was in awe.

There is so much to this book that I can’t talk about because I don’t want to ruin it for those who will read it. So a few things I will share is that there are truly evil people in the world such as Bibiana, Laire’s new stepmother, and Babiana’s servants the French manservant, Rafael, old Terza, and her dark and dangerous sealgair, Iain. The reason for their deception and what they intend to do is stuff out of fairy tales.

Another this about this book is that not all evil people are truly evil, are they? I just couldn’t believe that Iain was as evil as he was coming across. and I kept wanting him to redeem himself as he hunted Laire to kill her.

How the innocent Laire goes about trying to save her family while running for her life still makes my heart skip a beat. I was on the edge of my chair praying she would get away and find help to save her family.

There is a whole cast of surprising secondary characters that will warm the readers heart when they read this book. I want to tell everyone about them but then that will really spoil the story. I am sorry but this is a book you should read to get the full flavor of it.

I give this 4 STARS for the authors ability to show the darkness and the light of people with hope, redemption, the desire to survive and love as its main theme.

Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.

Visit my blog for more reviews: Sportochick’s Musings

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

